Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

National Women's Hall of Fame 2019 inductees to include Diane von Furstenberg

National Women's Hall of Fame

Fashion designer and philanthropist Diane von Furstenberg has been added to this year’s National Women’s Hall of Fame inductees in Seneca Falls.

Furstenberg is the 11th member of this year’s inductees; the other 10 were announced earlier this year.

The Hall says that Furstenberg debuted her iconic wrap dress in 1974, which grew into a global brand, and in 2015 was named one of Time’s 100 most influential people.

The 2019 class of inductees were nominated by the public, judged by an interdisciplinary team of experts and selected for their contributions to American society.

The National Women’s Hall of Fame will celebrate the inductees at a ceremony on September 14 at del Lago Resort & Casino in Seneca County.

Randy Gorbman is WXXI's director of news and public affairs. Randy manages the day-to-day operations of WXXI News on radio, television, and online.