Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

National Women's Hall of Fame announces this year's inductees

The National Women’s Hall of Fameannounced the 2019 inductees Friday night at a ceremony in New York City.

The ten women inductees are: 

Gloria Allred, an attorney who has often focused on women’s rights.

Angela Davis, a political activist and university professor.

Sarah Deer, an attorney and university professor who has worked to end violence against Native American women.

Jane Fonda, activist and actress who is a two-time Academy Award winner.

Nicole Malachowski, a retired Air Force Colonel who  is a pioneer for women in combat aviation.

Rose O’Neill, from 1914-1918, O’Neill was well known as a “suffrage artist” during the suffrage campaigns in the United States.  

Louise Slaughter, the longtime Rochester-area Congresswoman who died last year.

Sonia Sotomayor, Associate Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court

Laurie Spiegel, a composer, artist and  computer programmer, known for her pioneering work with several early electronic and computer music systems.

Flossie Wong-Staal, a world renowned molecular biologist and virologist and one of the pioneers in research on HIV, the causative agent of AIDS.

The 2019 class of inductees were nominated by the public, judged by an interdisciplinary team of experts and selected for their contributions to American society.

The National Women’s Hall of Fame will celebrate the inductees at a ceremony on September 14 at del Lago Resort & Casino in Seneca County.

Also at Friday's event, hall officials presented two women with the "Keeper of the Flame"award, which recognizes women who inspire present and future generations. This year's recipients are Rochester handbag designer and philanthropist Gail Riggs and Dorothy Wickenden, the executive editor of The New Yorker magazine.

Randy Gorbman is WXXI's director of news and public affairs. Randy manages the day-to-day operations of WXXI News on radio, television, and online.