2019 Primary

Coverage of the candidates running in the 2019 primaries. Join WXXI for up-to-the minute results and analysis of the primary returns on June 25 at 9 p.m.

Provided photos

Monroe County Democratic Elections Commissioner Tom Ferrarese said he’s still counting ballots from Tuesday night’s primary races -- and will be until at least next Tuesday.

The combination of a low turnout and a close race means absentee ballots may matter more than usual. In the Democratic primary for the Northwest Rochester City Council seat, Jose Peo leads LaShana Boose by just 25 votes. 

“These are absentee ballots that were requested after we printed our poll books, for the most part,” said Ferrarese. 

Veronica Volk / WXXI News

Monroe County Executive Cheryl Dinolfo won the Independence Party primary on Tuesday.

After securing nominations from the Republican and Conservative parties, this win locked her in for the local Independence Party, beating out her Democratic and Working Families opponent, County Clerk Adam Bello.

"I know and you know that Monroe County voters always vote for the person," she said. "And the Independence voters spoke loud and clear."

Provided photo

The Democratic primary for the Rochester City Council district seats can be summed up like this: two new faces, one familiar face, and one that hasn't been determined yet.

Two big stories came out of Tuesday night's County Legislature Democratic primaries.

In the 21st District race, former journalist Rachel Barnhart beat out the party-designated candidate Victor Sanchez. And in the 26th District, designated candidate Yversha Roman beat incumbent legislator Tony Micciche, who at the end of last year left the Legislature's Republican caucus and joined the Democrats. 

In Tuesday's primary that saw 10 people running for four seats on the Rochester Board of Education, the winners include two of the three incumbent candidates.

According to unofficial results from the Monroe County Board of Elections, incumbents Beatriz LeBron and Willa Powell, along with Amy Maloy and Ricardo Adams, were the top vote-getters.

Also in the race were incumbent Judith Davis, Andria Bryant, Howard Eagle and Clifford Florence, who ran as a slate, and Anthony Hall and Robert Hoggard.

Join WXXI News and our news partner, CITY Newspaper as we follow the returns for the 2019 primary elections. 

James Brown WXXI

Today is primary day across New York state, and in Monroe County, people took time out of their schedules to vote right after the polls opened at noon. 

A little after 1 p.m., Kelly and Aaron Fraver stopped into the Ark of Jesus Ministries on North Winton Avenue to vote. 

Aaron Fraver said primary voting is important. 

“People take primaries for granted, so it’s a chance for us to tell the party who we want to be our designated party in the general elections,” he said.

Kelly Fraver said voting is about showing the next generation what’s possible.

WXXI News will have coverage of the primary election returns starting at 9 p.m. Here's where you can follow our coverage:

Live stream video: WXXI News Facebook page

Radio: AM 1370, FM 107.5

Live stream audio: WXXINews.org, tell your smart speaker to play WXXI News

Beth Adams/WXXI News

Primary elections will be held Tuesday in New York state. 

Voters registered with various political parties in the city of Rochester, Monroe County, and 11 area towns will be casting ballots in a number of races. 

Local primary elections used to be held in September, but election reform legislation that was enacted in New York state this year has moved the date up to June. 

School board candidates face a skeptical public

Jun 18, 2019

Every election has twists and turns, but this year's election for Rochester school board is among the strangest in recent memory. The election is taking place at the same time that Rochester Mayor Lovely Warren is calling for the state to get rid of the board and take over the district for a few years.

In the June 25 Democratic primary, 10 candidates are running for four of the board's seven seats, including three of the incumbents: Judith Davis, Beatriz LeBron, and Willa Powell. Incumbent Liz Hallmark, who is completing her first term on the board, is not seeking re-election.