Cuomo Announces Members For Photonics Board

Oct 30, 2015

Governor Cuomo has announced appointments to a seven-member board to help coordinate the state's investment in the National Manufacturing Innovation Institute for Integrated Photonics.

Cuomo says the institute will help secure the nation's leadership in emerging technology research and manufacturing.

The Governor appoints the Chairman and two additional members; SUNY Poly Institute gets 2 appointees and RIT and the University of Rochester each appoint one member.

The Photonics Institute Board has Andrew Kennedy as its Chair. He currently is a top Cuomo administration official, serving as the Deputy Director of State Operations.

Cuomo also appointed MCC President Anne Kress to the board, and Alexander Cartwright, who is Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor at SUNY.

The U of R appointed Rob Clark, the engineering dean at that university, and RIT appointed Ryne Raffaele, its vice president for research and associate provost.

SUNY Poly appointed Ronald Goldblatt, who leads a SUNY Poly innovation institute and Paul Tolley, who oversees the Smart System Technology and Commercialization Center in Canandaigua.

In mid-October, Rochester Business Alliance President Bob Duffy was chosen to chair the AIM Photonics Leadership Council. That council is tasked with establishing the strategic and technical direction for the $600 million photonics effort that is eventually expected to bring thousands of jobs to the Rochester area.